We are often asked if our e-liquids are vegan or if there is a way to tell whether vape juice is vegan or not — if it’s not marked as vegan on the label.
Because there are so many different e-liquids on the market, it would be difficult to say with absolute certainty that ALL e-liquids are vegan. However, most e-liquids probably are — simply based on the ingredients they contain, which, in most cases do not contain any animal by-products.
E-liquids have a base of vegetable glycerine (VG), propylene glycol (PG) or a combination of both. Vegetable Glycerin (or VG), just as the name suggests, is plant-based and Propylene Glycerol (or PG) is a synthetic chemical made from petroleum products. Both PG and VG are generally considered vegan. However, some PG manufacturers have confirmed that there may be animal by-products involved in the process of creating propylene glycol — and if this specific type of PG is used in your vape juice, then it would not be vegan. If there is no way for you to check whether the PG used in your e-juice is vegan, going with a 100% VG e-juice would be a safer bet.
Then, there is the flavoring. Most e-liquids use either natural or artificial food-grade flavoring with no animal by-products. However, some specific flavorings that may contain animal products: for instance, vanilla flavors typically contain vanillin which is made with castoreum (which is derived from beaver secretions).
Another issue here is whether the e-liquid has been tested on animals. While there are no regulations requiring animal testing for e-juices, certain artificial flavors or color additives are tested on animals. Thus, unless there are specific markings on your e-juice that say it is vegan or cruelty-free, it is best to get in touch with the manufacturer to make sure whether it is:
manufacturers are required to disclose if animal testing has been used to produce their products.